November 14, 2012

Waiting on The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights any upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Publication date: May 14, 2013

Fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series and Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.

It was bizarre and inexplicable, but after it happened no one spoke of it and Ingrid Waverly was forced to leave her life in London behind. She had to trade a world full of fancy dresses and society events for Paris with her mother and younger sister, Gabby.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and, disturbingly, the house her twin brother Grayson found for them isn’t a house at all. It’s an abbey. A creepy, old abbey with a roof lined in stone gargoyles that one could almost mistake for living, breathing creatures.

And Grayson is missing.

Yet no one seems to be concerned about Grayson’s whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant who has some secrets of his own.

There’s one secret about the city that he can’t keep hidden, though. There’s a murderer on the loose. And every day Grayson is missing means that there’s less of a chance he’s alive.

Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead–she can feel it deep in her soul–but she knows he’s in grave danger, and that it’s up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost.

Only the path to him is twisted—and more deadly than she could ever imagine. (Goodreads)

Gargoyles, murder mysteries, and Paris? I also am intrigued by the idea of the protagonist having a twin brother. I haven't read too many male/female twin relationship books. And I'll never say no to a historically-based fantasy/paranormal read. 

What are you waiting on?
author image


Amanda loves few things better than sitting down with a cup of tea and a book. She frequently stays up far too late, telling herself she just needs to finish one more page. When she's not wrapped up in the stories of others, Amanda works as a children's librarian in a public library.


  1. I have this one on my TBR. Looking forward to it. Great pick!

    My WoW

    1. Yes, it definitely sounds like a fascinating book. Thanks for dropping by!

  2. How have I not heard of this?! It sounds like something I would LOVE! Super excited for it now!

    1. Well, I'm glad you've heard of it now! I hope you will be able to read and enjoy it! Thanks for commenting, Candace!

  3. That book looks amazing! I love Cassandra Clare's TMI, so I'm excited to read this one. I love the colors on the cover. I love those colors together.

    1. I actually have only read Cassandra Clare's first book in TMI, to be honest. I loved her fanfic though, so I need to give her published books a try again! And yes, a beautiful cover. Thanks for stopping by, Quinn!


Thank you for taking the time to comment! I strive to make my blog the very best it can possibly be and I appreciate each and every comment on here.